REQUIREMENTS TO MAINTAIN AN ELECTRIC UTILITY CERTIFICATE OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE & NECESSITY

NORTHERN NEVADA

1150 E. William Street Carson City, NV 89701 Phone: (775) 684-6101 Fax: (775) 684-6110

Consumer Complaints: (775) 684-6100



SOUTHERN NEVADA

9075 W. Diablo Dr., Ste. 250 Las Vegas, NV 89148 Phone: (702) 486-7210 Fax: (702) 486-7206

Consumer Complaints: (702) 486-2600

In order to maintain a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity ("CPC"), an electric utility must comply with the following obligations set forth in statutes and regulations.

REVENUE ASSESSMENT REQUIREMENTS

Nevada Revised Statute ("NRS") 704.035 requires that by July 1 of each year electric utilities pay an assessment to the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada ("PUCN") based upon the total dollars of gross operating revenue derived from their intrastate operations for the preceding calendar year. Please note the minimum assessment due and payable is \$100.00.

The assessment must be submitted by completing and submitting an Annual Revenue and Assessment Report Form. The PUCN mails this form to regulated entities each year, but it is also available on the PUCN website. The assessment rate and how to calculate the amount due are provided in the assessment form. Failure to pay the assessment on or before August 1 will result in an additional fee pursuant to NRS 704.035.

ANNUAL REPORTING

NRS 703.191 and NRS 703.193 require an Annual Report be submitted for each calendar year no later than May 15 of the following calendar year. Nevada Administrative Code ("NAC") 704.225 lists the information each public utility is required to submit.

COMPANY NAME & OTHER CHANGES

NRS 704.001 and NRS 703.150 provide the PUCN with the authority to regulate public utilities to the extent of its jurisdiction. Pursuant to NRS 703.191(3), if the PUCN finds that necessary information with respect to applicable business transacted in this State is not contained in a report, it may call for the omitted information at any time. Pursuant to this authority, the PUCN requires that utilities notify the PUCN in writing of name changes, an

intention to do business under a fictitious name, a change of address, telephone number, toll-free customer service number, or any other contact information, prior to making such a change.

PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE

This information is provided as a courtesy. It is the obligation of each electric utility to comply with all applicable statutes and regulations. NRS 703.380 provides that any public utility that violates any provision of NRS Chapters 703 or 704 or fails to pay any applicable assessment may be liable for an administrative fine of up to \$1,000 per day for each day of the violation. Failure to comply with regulatory obligations may also result in revocation of the applicable certificate.

MORE INFORMATION

For applicable forms, please visit the PUCN website. Please contact the Financial Analysis Division at (775) 684-6155 for questions about the Annual Reports, the Fiscal Division at (775) 684-6187 with questions about the annual assessment, or the Legal Case Manager at (775) 684-6188 for questions regarding notifying the PUCN of changes in information.





