# REQUIREMENTS TO MAINTAIN A COMMERCIAL MOBILE RADIO SERVICE LICENSE

NORTHERN NEVADA 1150 E. William Street Carson City, NV 89701 Phone: (775) 684-6101 Fax: (775) 684-6110 Consumer Complaints: (775) 684-6100



# **SOUTHERN NEVADA**

9075 W. Diablo Dr., Ste. 250 Las Vegas, NV 89148 Phone: (702) 486-7210 Fax: (702) 486-7206 **Consumer Complaints: (702) 486-2600** 

In order to maintain a Commercial Mobile Radio Service ("CMRS") license, a CMRS provider must comply with the following obligations set forth in statutes and regulations.

# **ANNUAL LICENSING FEE**

Nevada Revised Statute ("NRS") 704.033, Subsection 6 requires that a licensing fee of \$200 for each calendar year be submitted to the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada ("PUCN") by July 1 of the following calendar year.

# **TDD SURCHARGE AND REPORTING**

NRS 427A.797 pertains to the Telecommunication Devices for the Deaf (TDD) Surcharge for Assistance to Persons with Impaired Speech or Hearing. The TDD Surcharge Letter, available on the PUCN's website, provides the current rate and instructions on reporting and payment.

#### **UNIVERSAL SERVICE FUND**

NAC 704.6804 et seq. pertains to the Universal Service Fund. All CMRS providers are required to pay into the Nevada Universal Service Fund, which is administered by Solix. Solix informs carriers of the current assessment rate.

## ELIGIBLE TELECOMMUNICATIONS CARRIERS ONLY: ANNUAL REPORTS

Although an Annual Report is not generally required of CMRS providers by NRS 703.191, Nevada Administrative Code ("NAC") 704.680465 requires companies designated as Eligible Telecommunications Carriers ("ETC") provide information annually to demonstrate that, during the compliance year, they offered the services described in 47 Code of Federal Regulations 54.101 and that they advertised the availability of those services. Pursuant to NAC 704.6804745, CMRS providers with ETC designation must also certify that they are in compliance with the procedures for certifying the income of Lifeline and

Linkup customers. CMRS providers with ETC designation must submit the above information on or before May 15 of each calendar year. CMRS ETCs should also check for additional reporting requirements in the stipulations accepted by the PUCN in the proceedings granting their respective ETC designations.

## **COMPANY NAME & OTHER CHANGES**

Pursuant to NAC 704.7864(2), a CMRS provider shall notify the PUCN, in writing, of any changes made to the name, address, or other information on file with the PUCN pursuant to NAC 704.7862, within 30 days of such change.

## **PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE**

This information is provided as a courtesy. It is the obligation of each CMRS provider to comply with all applicable statutes and regulations. NRS 703.380 provides that any holder of a certificate of registration or license issued by the PUCN that violates any provision of NRS Chapter 703 or 704 or fails to pay any applicable assessment may be liable for an administrative fine of up to \$1,000 per day for each day of the violation. Failure to comply with regulatory obligations may also result in revocation of the applicable license.

#### **MORE INFORMATION**

For applicable forms, please visit the PUCN website. Please contact the Financial Analysis Division at (775) 684-6155 for questions about the Annual Report or ETC requirements, the Fiscal Division at (775) 684-6187 with questions about the TDD or annual licensing fee, or the Legal Case Manager at (775) 684-6188 for questions regarding notifying the PUCN of changes in information.



WWW.pUC.nV.gov April 10, 2017

