
NORTHERN NEVADA
1150 E. William Street 

Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: (775) 684-6101

Fax: (775) 684-6110
Consumer Complaints: (775) 684-6100

SOUTHERN NEVADA
9075 W. Diablo Dr., Ste. 250

Las Vegas, NV 89148
Phone: (702) 486-7210

Fax: (702) 486-7206
Consumer Complaints: (702) 486-2600

facebook.com/nevadapuc twitter.com/nevada_puc

REVENUE ASSESSMENT REQUIREMENTS
Nevada Revised Statute (“NRS”) 704.033 requires that 
by July 1 of each year telecommunication utilities pay 
an assessment to the Public Utilities Commission of 
Nevada (“PUCN”) based upon the total dollars of gross 
operating revenue derived from their intrastate operations 
for the preceding calendar year. Please note the minimum 
assessment due and payable is $100.00.  

The assessment must be submitted by completing and 
submitting an Annual Revenue and Assessment Report 
Form. The PUCN mails this form to regulated entities 
each year, but it is also available on the PUCN website.  
The assessment rate and how to calculate the amount 
due are provided in the assessment form. Failure to pay 
the assessment on or before August 1 will result in an 
additional fee pursuant to NRS 704.035. 

ANNUAL REPORTING
NRS 703.191 requires an Annual Report be submitted for 
each calendar year no later than May 15 of the following 
calendar year. Nevada Administrative Code (“NAC”) 704.225 
lists the information each public utility is required to submit.  

ELIGIBLE TELECOMMUNICATIONS CARRIERS
NAC 704.680465 requires companies designated as Eligible 
Telecommunications Carriers (“ETC”) provide information 
annually to demonstrate that, during the compliance year, 
they offered the services described in 47 Code of Federal 
Regulations 54.101 and that they advertised the availability 
of those services. See NAC 704.680461. This information 
can be attached to the Annual Report as an exhibit. 

TDD SURCHARGE REPORTING
NRS 427A.797 pertains to the Telecommunication 
Devices for the Deaf (TDD) Surcharge for Assistance 
to Persons with Impaired Speech or Hearing. The TDD 
Letter, available on the PUCN’s website, provides 
the current rate and instructions  on reporting and 

payment.

UNIVERSAL SERVICE FUND
NAC 704.6804 et seq. pertains to the Universal Service Fund. 
All certificated telecommunications carriers are required 
to pay into the Nevada Universal Service Fund, which is 
administered by Solix. Solix informs carriers of the current 
assessment rate.

COMPANY NAME & OTHER CHANGES
Pursuant to NAC 704.7494, a competitive provider of 
telecommunications services may not change its name or 
the name under which it conducts business in this state 
without filing an application with the PUCN and obtaining 
prior authorization. There is a $50.00 filing fee for this 
application. NAC 704.7494 also requires a competitive 
provider of telecommunications services that changes its 
address, telephone number, toll-free customer service 
number, or any other contact information, to file a notification 
of the change(s) with the PUCN no later than 30 days after 
the provider makes that change. 

PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE
This information is provided as a courtesy. It is the obligation of 
each telecommunication provider to comply with all applicable 
statutes and regulations. NRS 703.380 provides that any 
public utility that violates any provision of NRS Chapters 703 
or 704, or fails to pay any applicable assessment, may be 
liable for a civil penalty of up to $1,000 per day for each day 
of the violation. Failure to comply with regulatory obligations 
may also result in revocation of the applicable certificate.

MORE INFORMATION
Contact the Financial Analysis Division at (775) 684-6155 
for questions about Annual Report or ETC requirements; 
the Fiscal Analysis Division at (775) 684-6187 for  TDD  or 
annual assessments questions; or the Legal Case Manager 

at (775) 684-6189 for questions regarding name 
or contact information change applications.

In order to maintain a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (“CPC”), you must 
comply with the following statutes and regulations.
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