PUCN Logo

Net Metering in Nevada


What is Net Metering?

Net metering allows you to use energy generated by your leased or purchased solar system to offset your monthly power bill. If your solar system produces more energy in a billing period than you use, your excess energy will be pushed back onto the grid and used by other electricity customers. You will earn credits for the excess energy. The credits are recorded on your electric bill. The credits will be automatically applied in the next billing period in which you consume more energy than you produce.

    Net Metering Rates - Assembly Bill 405 (2017)

    Effective June 15, 2017, Nevadans who choose to net meter will fall under a rate structure set by the Nevada Legislature in Assembly Bill 405 (AB 405).

    This rate structure applies to renewable energy systems of not more than 25 kilowatts, which is typical of a rooftop solar system installed at a home or small business.

    The net metering rate structure is tiered and set to decrease over time as the amount of electricity produced by net metering systems hits 80 megawatt benchmarks. (See "Net Metering Rate Tiers" below for more information.)

    Net metering customers will remain in the same customer class as non-net metering customers and cannot be charged any fee or charge that is different than that charged to non-net metering customers. Net metering customers will pay the same basic service charge and other fees as non-net metering customers.

      Net Metering Rate Tiers

      • 95% of the retail rate: This is the current net metering rate for those who agree to net meter on or after the effective date of June 15, 2017. This rate will be in effect until the amount of electricity produced by net metering systems signed up at this tier equals 80 megawatts. Customers who sign up to net meter under this rate will keep it for a period of 20 years at the location where the net metering system was originally installed. (“Retail rate” is defined as the Base Tariff General Rate (“BTGR”), Base Tariff Energy Rate (“BTER”) and Deferred Energy Accounting Adjustment (“DEAA”) Rate combined. For more information on the BTGR, BTER and DEAA, please review the PUCN’s Northern Nevada Electric Rates & Charges fact sheet or Southern Nevada Electric Rates & Charges fact sheet.)
      • 88% of the retail rate: The net metering rate will decrease to 88% of the retail rate when the amount of electricity produced by net metering systems under the 95% tier equals 80 megawatts. Customers who sign up to net meter under this rate will keep it for a period of 20 years at the location where the net metering system was originally installed.
      • 81% of the retail rate: The net metering rate will decrease to 81% of the retail rate when the amount of electricity produced by net metering systems under the 88% tier equals 80 megawatts. Customers who sign up to net meter under this rate will keep it for a period of 20 years at the location where the net metering system was originally installed.
      • 75% of the retail rate The net metering rate will decrease to 75% of the retail rate when the amount of electricity produced by net metering systems under the 81% tier equals 80 megawatts. Customers who sign up to net meter under this rate will keep it for a period of 20 years at the location where the net metering system was originally installed.

        AB 405 Capacity


        Tier 1
        Applied Capacity
         13.965 MW*

         
        Installed Capacity
        3.054 MW*
        Tier 2
        Applied Capacity
        0 MW*
           Installed Capacity
        0 MW*
         Tier 3 
        Applied Capacity
        0 MW*
          Installed Capacity
        0 MW*
        Tier 4
        Applied Capacity
        0 MW*
          Installed Capacity
        0 MW*

        *The numbers shown will fluctuate as customer-generator applications are submitted, withdrawn, or expire. The information will be updated as new projects move into the queue. The information regarding applied-for capacity is provided as a courtesy and is not meant to be a legal determination of capacity. The information regarding installed capacity is required by AB 405; AB 405 requires the PUCN to post certain findings on its website regarding installed capacity. The PUCN will make a determination at an open meeting regarding required installed capacity findings and will then post that information on this website.